facebook pixel

Roofing License Requirements – How to Get Roofing Licence in Every State?

The Roofing business is a difficult profession. Before you start working you must make sure you are in compliance with any State and local laws in the area you plan to operate. The vast majority of States have no specific registration requirements. They usually have general requirements that you have a contractor’s license that is not specifically geared towards roofing.

These licensing requirements are the same for all types of contractors. That being said they usually break down commercial and residential work into different categories.

Two categories of roofs that are commercial and residential work IMG

There are a few States such as Illinois, California and Arizona that have specific requirements for Roofing contractors.

States with specific License requirements for roofers in illinois, california and arizona

In most instances States will require that you show past experience in the trade, pass an exam, obtain insurance and in some cases provide a bond before you are granted a license.

Further complicating things a number of municipal entities may require some sort of permit or registration before you can start work. These requirements are generally straightforward. They usually require an application completed, a copy of your Roofer’s General Liability Insurance policy, any State license and some instances a bond.

4 State License Requirements for Contractors

We’ve put together a comprehensive list of roofing license requirements, across all 50 states. In many states you will need to have the proper roofing insurance in order to get a license. You may also need to show proof that you have experience or take an exam.

It is important that you do a simple google search of the City you plan doing business in to also see if they have any specific requirements. The sheer diversity of cities and differing requirements make it impractical to list them in a single place.

A to Z

Alabama

State of Alabama

If you are a residential roofer who contracts directly with a home owner to perform residential roofing, when the total cost of the undertaking exceeds $2,500, you are required to hold a residential roofers license.

You will need Roofers License with projects over 2.500 usd IMG

The Application and other requirements can be found HERE.

  • Alabama Roofing and Sheet Metal Contractor license is required for work over $50,000.
  • You need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.
  • You must show proof of completion of three projects within the past three years.

To apply, contact the state of Alabama at 1-334-272-5030. The application fee is $300.

Alaska

State of Alaska

Roofing is considered a specialty contractor trade. As a result you need to complete the specialty contractor registration.

A roofing contractor performs the following services on all types of roofs using all types of roofing material:

  • Installation of roof sheathing.
  • Installation or application of roof weatherproofing and insulation.
  • Repair of structural damage of roof support system, but not construction or installation of a new roof support system.
  • Extension of roof penetrations, vents, and drains on an existing structure, except electrical penetrations.
  • Installation of skylights

For this you need to complete an application, provide proof of insurance and a $10,000 Bond. More information can be found HERE.

General Contractors License Icon

General Contractors

General Contractors may perform new home construction, commercial work, and residential remodel work. General contractors that oversee new home construction or perform residential work greater than 25% of the value of a structure being altered must obtain a Residential Contractor license and/or a Residential Contractor Endorsement.

Residential Contractors Endorsement Icon

Residential Contractors

Residential Contractors are contractors who have a Residential Contractor Endorsement or have assigned to them an individual(s) who has a residential contractor endorsement. Residential Contractors may undertake construction of a privately owned residential structure of one to four units and residential work greater than 25% the value of the structure being altered.

Arizona

State of Arizona

In Arizona according to the Arizona Register of Contractors (ROC). Roofing is a specialty classification with specific licenses for residential or commercial work.

You will need to:

These requirements can be found HERE.

Arkansas

State of Arkansas

To perform Residential Roofing:

  • You must be REGISTERED as a residential roofer instead of having a Home Improvement Roofing License
  • The Registration is ONLY for Roofers. If you perform other types of Residential work in addition to Roofing, you will need to maintain your Home Improvement License.

The application can be found HERE.

A Residential Roofer Registration is needed to perform «Roofing, Roof Decks, Roofing Sheet Metal» projects more than $2,000, including but not limited to, labor and material. A $15,000 bond is required with the application.

You will need projects over 2000usd to require a 15000 bond IMG

A commercial license is needed if a contractor performs work of $50,000 or more, including, but not limited to, labor and materials, on a commercial project. Any project that is not a single-family residence is a commercial project.

You will need commercial license with projects over 50000

California

State of California

According to the California Code of Regulations if you do work that costs more than $500, you need a C-39 – Roofing Contractor license. A roofing contractor installs products and repairs surfaces that seal, waterproof and weatherproof structures.

You will need C-39 Roofing License with projects over 500

This work is performed to prevent water or its derivatives, compounds or solids from penetrating such protection and gaining access to material or space beyond. In the course of this work, the contractor examines and/or prepares surfaces and uses the following material: asphaltum, pitch, tar, felt, glass fabric, urethane foam, metal roofing systems, flax, shakes, shingles, roof tile, slate or any other roofing, waterproofing, weatherproofing or membrane material(s) or a combination thereof.

To get a roofing license in California:

The application can be found HERE.

It may be in your best interest to form a corporation rather than an LLC as the State requires a $100,000 bond from LLC’s for workers compensation. There is no requirement for corporations to file this bond. You should discuss this with your business advisors.

Colorado

State of Colorado

There is no specific Roofing contractor license. It is treated as a general contractor in Colorado. As such you are not required to have a state license, you will be required to have a business license. Some municipalities may have their own requirements and you need to check with them before you start any work.

Connecticut

State of Connecticut

Roofing contractors are not required to have a state license in Connecticut. Under the Connecticut Home Improvement Act, an individual and/or business is required to register with the Department of Consumer Protection if they are contracting with a consumer to perform work on residential property. Home Improvement is any permanent change to residential property, including roofs.

The application can be found HERE.

Delaware

State of Delaware

If you are a roofing contractor you must register with, and get a business license from the Delaware Division of Revenue.

The Forms can be found HERE.

Delaware law, with limited exceptions, requires all employers to secure workers’ compensation insurance to cover all their full-time, part-time, seasonal or occasional employees prior to hiring and working in the State.

Florida

State of Florida

There are two different classifications: Registered or Certified.

If you obtain a local, county or city contracting license, you must apply for initial state registration. You may only practice contracting in that county or city, along with any adjoining locales that will accept your registration. If you complete the Florida contractor’s examination and apply for initial certification, your licensure will allow you to work throughout the state.

You may access both licensure applications and the Florida contractor’s examination application HERE.

Applicants will need to:

  • Provide proof of financial stability and responsibility by submitting a personal credit report and/or financial statements.
  • Attest that they have obtained public liability and property damage insurance in the amounts determined by Board rule.
  • Obtain workers compensation insurance or obtain an exemption from workers compensation insurance within 30 days of issuance of their license.

Georgia

State of Georgia

There is no State Roofing license to work in Georgia. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Hawaii

State of Hawaii

To be a licensed roofer you need to:

  • Obtain a C-42 Roofing Contractor License issued by the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs Professional and Vocational Licensing
  • You will need to pass a roofing exam, as well as a business and law exam.
  • To be eligible to take the exam, you will need to show previous experience.
  • You also must maintain continuous general liability insurance coverage throughout licensure and keep on file in the Board’s office evidence of such coverage.

The requirements can be found HERE.

Idaho

State of Idaho

Idaho’s roofing license requirements do not require roofers to hold a state license. If you work on a construction job with a dollar amount exceeding $2000.00 you must register with the State.

You will need state registration with projects over 2000 IMG

The registration information can be found HERE.

You will need general liability insurance including products and completed operations coverage in the name of the entity or person applying for registration with a minimum coverage in the amount of $300,000.00.

Illinois

State of Illinois

Roofing contractors in Illinois require a state Illinois roofing license issued by the Department of Professional Regulation.

There are two types of licenses. You must apply for the license of the type of work you plan to do.

Limited License icon

A limited license is for contractors whose roofing business is limited to roofing residential properties of eight units or less.

Unlimited License Icon

An unlimited license is for contractors who work with residential, commercial, and industrial properties.

The application can be found HERE.

To qualify to apply, you must:

  • Pass the state exam
  • You also need to have General liability insurance
  • A bond. The bond for the limited license is in the amount of $10,000. The unlimited bond is for $25,000
  • The licenses all run for a period of 2 years expiring on 12/31 of odd numbered years

If you are going to form an LLC for your roofing business, your are required to form a PLLC, the cost is the same but the state requires you to form a Professional Limited Liability Company (PLLC) if you want to get the entity licensed.

Indiana

State of Indiana

There is no State Roofing license to work in Indiana. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work. Some Counties in Indiana also require the original bond be recorded at the County Recorder’s Office.

Iowa

State of Iowa

All construction contractors who earn more than $2,000 per year are required to be registered with the Iowa Division of Labor if they work in the state. There is no exam, but you must show proof of unemployment insurance.

You will need State Registration If you earn over 2000 per year

If you are an out of state roofer you will need to purchase a $25,000 bond to guarantee that any taxes owed to the state are paid. This bond is expensive even if your credit is good.

All out of state roofers require a 25000 bond img

Kansas

State of Kansas

The Kansas Roofing Registration Act was enacted on April 22, 2013. Under the provisions of this law, on and after July 1, 2013, every «roofing contractor» must obtain a roofing contractor registration certificate from the Kansas Attorney General in order to legally provide commercial or residential roofing services for a fee in Kansas.

While there is no state license for roofing contractors in Kansas, you must:

  • Hold a roofing contractor registration certificate issued by the Kansas Attorney General in order to do work on either residential or commercial projects in the state.
  • You must show proof of liability business insurance in Kansas and workers’ compensation insurance according to the state roofing license requirements.

The application can be found HERE.

Kentucky

State of Kentucky

There is no State Roofing license to work in Kentucky. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Louisiana

State of Louisiana

Roofing contractors in Louisiana require:

  • A state license for any commercial construction work with a value of $50,000 or more including labor and materials
  • Home Improvement projects with a value exceeding $7,500 but not in excess of $75,000 including labor and materials require a home improvement registration
  • If the residential project is more than $75,000 you need the residential license
  • You need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam
  • Show proof of general liability and workers’ compensation insurance.

The Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors issues commercial and residential licenses and home improvement registration

The application can be found HERE.

Maine

State of Maine

There is no State Roofing license to work in Maine. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Maryland

State of Maryland

Roofing contractors do not require a state license to work in Maryland, only If you are doing Home Improvement work you will need a state license and is issued by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission.

You will need state license only if you perform home improvement work IMG

To apply for the license you need:

  • To show two years of work experience and pass the exam.
  • You also need to show proof of insurance to comply with state roofing license requirements.
  • There is also a financial solvency requirement. Any applicant who does not meet the Commission’s financial solvency guidelines may obtain an indemnitor or purchase a surety bond.

Massachusetts

State of Massachusetts

Roofing contractors in Massachusetts must be licensed by the State Board of Building Regulations and Standards. This is the Construction Supervisor License. If you work on existing structures, you will also need a state registration.

Any roofer needs CSL License and HIC Registration IMG

All contractors, partnerships, and corporations that solicit, bid on, or perform residential contracting as a contractor or subcontractor on an existing one to four unit owner occupied residential property in Massachusetts must be registered as a Home Improvement Contractor (HIC).

An HIC Registration is different from a Construction Supervisor License (CSL) and they are not interchangeable. You can obtain a CSL from the Office of Public Safety and Inspections.

More information can be found HERE.

Michigan

State of Michigan

RESIDENTIAL BUILDERS AND MAINTENANCE & ALTERATION CONTRACTORS require a license if they are engaged in the construction of a residential structure or combination residential and commercial structure, or persons who undertake the repair, alteration, addition, subtraction or improvement of a residential structure or combination residential and commercial structure for compensation other than wages for personal labor.

Before you apply, you need to complete 60 hours of education and then pass an exam.

More information can be found HERE.

Minnesota

State of Minnesota

Licenses are required for all residential building contractors and remodelers in Minnesota who contract with a homeowner to construct or improve dwellings by offering more than one special skill.

The application and more information can be found HERE.

To get a license:

  • You need to pass the residential roofer trade exam
  • You also need to show proof of insurance
  • You must post a $15,000 surety bond.

Mississippi

State of Mississippi

Commercial and residential contractors and roofers are required to be licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors.

All contractors performing new residential or commercial construction over $50,000, residential remodeling or additions over $10,000, or residential roofing over $10,000, are required to have a license issued by MSBOC.

All cases require a contractors license IMG

All applicants are required to:

  • Take a Law and Business Management exam.
  • Depending upon the classification of licensure you are applying for, a trade exam may also be required.

Missouri

State of Missouri

There is no State Roofing license to work in Missouri. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Montana

State of Montana

Roofing contractors are not required to hold a state license in Montana. All construction contractors with employees must register. A construction contractor is defined, simply, as anyone who adds to or takes away from a structure, project, development, or improvement attached to real estate.

If you have no employees, you can register, but are not required to.

Nebraska

State of Nebraska

There is no State Roofing license to work in Nebraska. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Roofing contractors, in Nebraska who perform construction or repair work, are required to register with the Nebraska Department of Labor.

The registration can be found HERE.

Nevada

State of Nevada

All businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation, or other structure in Nevada must be licensed by the Nevada State Contractors Board. Contractors, including subcontractors and specialty contractors must be licensed before submitting bids.

The contractor or other person who will act as the qualifying individual must have had, within the ten years immediately before the filing of the application, at least four full years of experience at a journeyman level, or as a foreman, supervisor, or contractor in the classification for which you are applying.

Prove at least four years of experience IMG

More information can be found HERE.

New Hampshire

State of New Hampshire

There is no State Roofing license to work in New Hampshire. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work

New Jersey

State of New Jersey

The Contractor’s Registration Act requires that all roofers that do residential work must register as a home improvement contractor with the N.J. Division of Consumer Affairs and display their registration number listed,NJHIC#, at the following places:

  • Within their places of business (the original registration certificate)
  • On all advertisements
  • On business documents, contracts and correspondence with consumers
  • On all commercial vehicles.

You do not require a state license to work as a roofing contractor in New Jersey; however, you are required to be registered if you do residential work.

The application can be found HERE.

New Mexico

State of New Mexico

Roofing contractors in New Mexico are treated as Construction Contractors. As such you require a state license to work.

You will need:

  • Two years of experience to be approved to take the exam and you must pass the trade exam
  • The license is issued by the Construction Industries Division, State of New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

New York

State of New York

There is no State Roofing license to work in New York. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

North Carolina

State of North Carolina

To obtain a license you must complete the Application for License to Practice General Contracting in the State of North Carolina which is available on the Boards website at www.nclbgc.org

The application must fully comply with all requirements established by the Board’s statutes and rules. Further the basic requirements for licensing include:

  • Completing the application
  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Possess good moral character
  • Meet the minimum financial requirement based on the limitation of license you are applying for
  • Successfully completing an examination based on the desired classification of license

There are 3 different limitations.The limitation determines the total dollar size of the projects that the licensee can undertake.

Limited License IMG

A limited license allows contractors to undertake individual projects up to $500,000 each.

Intermediate License IMG

The intermediate license allows contractors to undertake individual projects up to $1,000,000 each.

Unlimited License IMG

The unlimited license has no dollar limit on the size of the projects that can be undertaken

North Dakota

State of North Dakota

Roofing contractors require a state license in North Dakota for any jobs worth $4,000 or more. There are four classes of licenses issued by the Secretary of State of North Dakota, depending on the size of the jobs you plan to take on.

Table of contract amount class and fee

There is no exam requirement, but you will need to show that you don’t owe any taxes and show proof of workers’ compensation insurance and liability insurance.

Ohio

State of Ohio

There is no State Roofing license to work in Ohio. A vast majority of municipalities in Ohio have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

These generally consist of:

Oklahoma

State of Oklahoma

There is no license requirement, however, you must register.

Residential Roofing Work and Commercial Roofing Work IMG

Residential

An Active Roofing Contractor performing only residential roofing work must provide a certificate of insurance evidencing a minimum of $500,000.00 business general liability insurance in the form of a Certificate of General Liability. The individual registration holder’s name must be on the certificate of insurance. The certificate holder is the Construction Industries Board.

Commercial

An Active Roofing Contractor performing any commercial roofing work must provide a certificate of insurance evidencing a minimum of $1,000,000.00 commercial general liability insurance in the form of a Certificate of General Liability. The individual registration and endorsement holder’s name must be on the certificate of insurance. The certificate holder is the Construction Industries Board.

The registration application can be found HERE.

Oregon

State of Oregon

Roofing contractors in Oregon need a state license to work.

You’ll need to:

  • Complete pre-license training and pass a test before you will be issued with a license from the Construction Contractors Board
  • Show proof of general liability insurance and workers’ compensation insurance.
  • A bond is also required depending on the type and size of work you do.
  • There are two types of bonds as well, one for commercial and another for residential work. If you perform residential and commercial work you will need two bonds.

Pennsylvania

State of Pennsylvania

There is no State Roofing license to work in Pennsylvania. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Rhode Island

State of Rhode Island

Commercial roofing contractors in Rhode Island require a state license to work. Commercial Roofing License is needed for a «Roofing contractor». This means any person or entity engaged in the state of Rhode Island in the business of commercial or industrial roofing, or any combination of these. Commercial or industrial structures or buildings shall not include any residential structures consisting of four (4) dwelling units or less.

«Roofing» means and includes any and all construction, renovation, or other work performed on or about the roof, as the term is commonly used, of any nonresidential structure or similar building and shall specifically include sealing, water proofing, weatherproofing, related sheet-metal work, and similar work.

Requirements for those seeking a commercial roofing license for the first time:

  • Documentation of completion of PSI exam
  • 2,000,000 Certificate of Liability Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder.
  • Certificate of Worker’s Compensation Insurance, indicating CRLB as the certificate holder, must be submitted by applicants with employees
  • Business ID# and date of incorporation for Corporations and Limited Liability Companies.
  • $400 initial license fee for 2 years.

South Carolina

State of South Carolina

Roofing contractors fall under the category of Residential Specialty Contractor. They do not require a state license to work in South Carolina. You must be registered with the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.

To become registered, you must submit references and a surety bond if your work will be worth more than $5,000

South Dakota

State of South Dakota

There is no State Roofing license to work in South Dakota. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work

Tennessee

State of Tennesse

A Tennessee contractor’s license is required BEFORE bidding or offering a price, for projects $25,000 and up (includes materials and labor), as a prime (general) contractor; and also subcontractors performing roofing.

A Home Improvement license is required for remodeling projects in several counties, when the cost is $3,000 to $24,999. Consumers prefer to hire licensed professionals, especially when it comes to home remodeling. If you want to be known as a state licensed, insured and bonded contractor, the Home Improvement license is a good start. The Home Improvement License also requires a $10,000

You will need Contractors License With projects over 25000
Remodeling projects between 3k and 25k require a HIL

Counties who have adopted the Home Improvement law pursuant T.C.A. 62-6-516 (formerly 62-37-126), are currently: Bradley, Davidson, Haywood, Hamilton, Knox, Marion, Robertson, Rutherford, and Shelby; and required for projects over $3,000 to less than $25,000.

Note: A license is required regardless of whether a permit is needed.

You must:

Texas

State of texas

There is no State Roofing license to work in Texas. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

The Roofing Contractors Association of Texas offers a private licensing service. This is purely voluntarily and not required to do roofing in Texas.

More information can be found HERE.

Utah

State of Utah

You must:

  • Already have completed a pre license course from Associated Builders and Contractors Inc (ABC), Utah Home Builders Association (UHBA), or Associated General Contractors of Utah (AGC).
  • Specialty contractors require a 25-hour pre-licensure course.
  • You must have obtained a general liability insurance certificate with minimum required coverage of $100,000 for each incident and $300,000 in total.
  • The DOPL must be listed as a certificate holder

S280 Roofing Contractor is the specialty contractor roofing classification.

Vermont

State of Vermont

There is no State Roofing license to work in Vermont. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work

Virginia

State of Virginia

The Board for Contractors licenses businesses engaged in the construction, repair, or improvement of facilities on property owned by others. Contractor licenses consist of two parts: the class of license (A, B, or C), which determines the monetary value of contracts/projects that may be performed, and the classification/specialty, which determines what type of work is allowed.

Contractors Licenses IMG

A step by step guide can be found HERE.

Washington

State of Washington

There is no specific registration for roofing contractors in Washington. However all contractors must be licensed with the State department of Labor and Industries.

You are required to:

These bonds are based on credit. So if your credit is not so good they can be expensive. Otherwise they are around $200 for the year.

The application can be found HERE.

West Virginia

State of West Virginia

Construction contractors, including roofing contractors, must be licensed to work in West Virginia. The license is issued by the Division of Labor West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board.

You’ll need to:

  • Pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.
  • Contact and provide the West Virginia Contractor Licensing Board with your scope of work in order to verify the classification(s) and the exam(s) required for obtaining your contractor license.
  • Your request can be sent to [email protected]
  • You must also show proof of workers’ compensation insurance if you have employees.

Wisconsin

State of Wisconsin

There is no State Roofing license to work in Wisconsin. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Wyoming

State of Wyoming

There is no State Roofing license to work in Wyoming. Some municipalities have local licensing requirements which you will need to check before you begin work.

Avatar for Tom Hester
Written by: Tom Hester
Tom has worked in the insurance industry since 2005, where he has become a source of knowledge. He’s gained a reputation as a writer. He has published a series of ebooks about insurance, like “A complete guide for Contractors Insurance and Handyman Insurance” and “Understanding Builders Risk Insurance.”